Breaking Shyness

Shyness is the one of the biggest things that stops me the most when I first started getting into street photography.I only lived 100 yards away from the train station, I figured if I’m going to try and break my shyness this would be a good place to start. When I walked down the steps to the station I was relieved to see nobody got here yet.

One by one they marched down the steps, each step they took the harder it got for me to work-up the nerve to ask complete strangers to participate. Now here I am pacing back and forth waiting for even more people to show up “what the hell was I thinking?”.

I can plainly see not everyone is happy!  They all have that “It’s Fucking Monday” look on their faces which makes this even harder for me to do this..

From where I was standing I can see the train come around the bend before any of them.

I yelled out, “Hey guys could you act as if you were hitch hiking for a ride?“.

SO_May 22, 2013

Some of the people were giggling, and willing to step up and participate, there was a few people who didn’t want to take part though but that was okay I didn’t mind.

After I had taken the shot I shouted out, “Thank You!“.

As each person stepped aboard the train I noticed a big change, that unhappy look from when I first seen them walk down the steps disappeared and was replaced with a SMILE and talking about what the heck just happened.

 

Me I’m still shy…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

